a new family member

30 Aug

Last fall I pledged to a Kickstarter campaign for an aquafarm. I don’t know what I was thinking. Gardening is not my strong point. I have bought full grown, healthy, low maintenance plants, and killed them almost instantly. And trying to grow from scratch? Pfft! Forget it! And don’t even get me started on keeping fish alive. Really, it’s kind of a miracle that my kids have made it this far. Despite all this, I clung to my naïve hope and pledged. “I can so do this,” I convinced myself.

Aquaponis system.  The fish waste feeds the plants.  The plants clean the tank.

Aquaponis system. The fish waste feeds the plants. The plants clean the tank.

I eagerly awaited the day that the Aquafarm would arrive and after 6 months, it finally came. I immediately panicked. “Holy shit,” I thought. “I might actually have to do this.” If I fail at this, then I might as well give up because it doesn’t get any easier than this. Which is why I left it in the box and put it in the corner and didn’t open it for another two months. I’d gotten used to the menacing box lurking in the dining room corner and even stopped taking the long route around just to avoid walking by it. Then my friend Gail texted me. She was at a pet store and found the prettiest red betta and wanted to know if I wanted it. It was now or never. So I told her to go for it and she bought it. I had no choice but to open the Aquafarm. I followed the steps exactly and after an hour of work, my Aquafarm was set up with wheatgrass planted and the water conditioned for the betta. Gabriel named the fish Lightning McQueen. After three days, the wheatgrass started to grow. After one week, I added two snails and a decoration to the tank. Sofia named the snails: Ladybug 1 and Ladybug 2. It has been two weeks and the plants are growing and the fish and snails are still alive! I can hardly believe it. Sure the water is a little cloudy and the grass seems to be growing every way but up, but I don’t care. Right now, I have living plants and fish. Success! My aquafarm!

I know it’s silly, but sometimes I can’t hide my giddiness when we feed Lightning McQueen and he actually eats it. It’s like a big deal in our house. At least for me and the kids. Ryan doesn’t care so much. But I just can’t help but get excited when Lighting eats those tiny little food pellets. “Look! He ate it! Oh! He ate another one!” I’ll exclaim. And then the kids join in, cheering every time the fish does something. I’m not sure if it’s just because they see me so excited or if they are really just as excited as I am to have a fish. And I’m sure the novelty will wear off eventually, but for now, it’s an exciting time in the Ferguson house. I guess it’s the little things that make us happy.

Leave a Reply

